top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Friesen

Motown Bass Brilliance (James Jamerson)

Updated: Oct 5, 2020

Hey there folks!


In this lesson I want to provide an exercise I came across in the book Standing in the Shadows of Motown. It focuses on approaching chord tones via chromatic choices. The exercise is swung (our classic long short pattern of eighth notes).


The variation I propose from the text is to focus on learning the exercise in all three positions. This implies starting on first your index finger, then your middle finger, then your pinkey. Once you’re comfortable with those transposing the exercise to all 12 keys will be much easier.


I know this is fairly intricate, so I’ve recorded a video demonstrating. Watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jLJHiafdi3w


Enjoy the practice and keep playing!


53 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page